Wk 9- Artist Convo #6-Dalia Banuelos & Daniel Bonilla- Vera

Exhibition Information

Artist: Dalia Banuelos, Daniel Bonilla-Vera

Exhibition: Infraction

Media: Mixed, photography

Gallery: Merlino Gallery 

About the Artist

There are two artists for this gallery, Dalia Banuelos and Daniel Bonilla- Vera, but I was unable to meet Banuelos. Daniel Bonilla- Vera is an undergraduate student at CSULB, pursuing a Bachelors of Fine Arts in Studio Art Photography. Both Dalia and Daniel have been rejected into the Arts program, but Daniel has one more opportunity to get into the program. Daniel found his passion for photography during his high school years.

Formal Analysis

The art gallery depicts feelings of frustration. The art gallery consisted of many photographs throughout the room. On one side of the room a piece of black yard started up against the wall, and ended on the other side of the room. There are two figures of bodies in the room. One is kneeled down and the other body is laying on his side facing away from the audience. There is one trash can in the corner of the gallery, which has a few photographs and the end of the yarn.

Content Analysis

The gallery includes all the images that were rejected from both Dalia and Daniel. On the left side of the room, it’s all of Daniel’s photographs and the right side is all of Dalia’s. The photographs hanging from the yarn were taken by both artists. The human figure, kneeled down represents Dalia, and the other human figure represents Daniel. The black yarn has a few different meanings. The first meaning is that, if the yarn was to be cut, everything would fall because it’s all connected. The color black adds feelings of frustration to the atmosphere portrayed- frustration towards the institution. The trashcan placed in the corner, where the string ends, depicts the thoughts the institution.  According to the instruction, their art is in the trashcan “where it belongs.”

Synthesis/ My Experience

When first entering the exhibition, I was scared to see the two bodies. I immediately picked up on the feelings of sadness and frustration. This gallery reminded me of the feelings I went through when I did not get the position I wanted. In my opinion, and my other coworkers would agree, that I deserved the position far more than the girl that actually got the position. My coworker got the position because she has been working there longer than I had. I don’t think that’s a good enough reason, so I also dealt with feelings of frustration.

Leave a Reply

