WK 5: Graffiti Writing- Eyes on You

My experience:
I had a great day graffitiing on the walls of Venice Beach. It was such a beautiful day to go out and enjoy the sun. My bestfriend and I went out to the graffiti walls and painted our names there. At first, we weren’t sure if we were even able to graffiti on the walls, because there were a few cops patrolling the area. After we saw other people spray painting, we picked a wall and began. It was difficult to find a spot because there were so many paintings on the walls already. I observed that the majority of people come prepared with a white bucket of paint to paint the wall first, then grafiti their drawing. If I had known that, I would have most definitely brought a bucket of white paint to paint my section white first. It was difficult to graffiti, because I don’t do it often. My favorite thing about this experience was that you have complete control of how you want to graffiti. You can choose the different caps for different line shapes( thick or thin) and you have the motion to guide the spray paint bottle were you want. I decided to draw my name as if it was smiling, and added two eyeballs to make it look like a smiley face. I did this because much of the art painted on the walls were mysterious, and my idea stood out because it was smiling at you. I did not make my name in bubble letters only because I wanted my name to be smiling and I wouldn’t have liked how the letters in my name would have looked all smashed together in a smile form. After painting on the walls of Venice, my bestfriend and I went to Small World Books and I took a picture with a zine. Also,we went around the store and noticed a few books we’ve read before back in high school. We also enjoyed the free live music from people that were playing  and signing on the pathway that day.

Leave a Reply

